top of page

Wii U: An Impulse Buy Review

I bought a Wii U like a week ago, and, to put it simply, I love it. I've been down on Nintendo since before they announced the original Wii, and I still don't give them a free pass. In fact, I've been highly—negatively—biased toward the Wii U based on assumptions made due to prior Nintendo practices over the last decade. But I had a couple extra shekels and an itch for Mario, so I took a gamble. I should mention that I already have a PS4 and that the current drought also probably played a part. And I was primarily 360 last gen (140,000 gamer-score,) though little interest in Xbox One at this point. Have a 3DS, have a Vita, have two gaming laptops, two 360's, PS3... My point is that I’m not coming at this from some slanted angle, one way or another. For what the Wii U has to offer (at a marginally cheaper price point than it is,) it's well worth it. I really wish there were more games, looking ahead, but there is plenty for me to play for the next few months if not taking other platforms into consideration whatsoever--so probably longer. Unfortunately, I’m not really in to Smash Bros. or Mario Kart so once I’m done with what’s out there now there is little light at the end of this tunnel. Hopefully E3 will change that, at least somewhat, but I digress. Amazon has had Wii U's on sale, with Skylanders, for like $240, so I picked it up for cheaper than normal, which really helped justify the purchase. I'd be happy with it either way, but I wouldn't have taken the plunge at the regular retail price, without the extra game. I like the gamepad, mainly for its secondary functionality. Using it as a menu without having to pause is very nice. And while the second screen bit looks like trash compared to 1080p, it’s a nice change of pace close up every now and then if your eyesight is less than perfect. As a controller, overall, it feels great, despite its gigantic size. Other than Skylanders, everything I’ve played has been Nintendo published. That said, the graphics have been great thus far. Are they where PS4 or Xbox One will be in two years? Hell no. But as of now, they are not behind anything but the best looking titles (Killzone, NBA 2K,) and there doesn’t look to be a change to that anytime real soon. Both Mario games literally put Knack to absolute shame.

Again, my only complaint isn’t actually even a complaint at all, but a worry. Games. They need more games in the visible pipeline. For what it is now, it’s enough to keep you busy, and if you’re excited by either Smash Bros or Mario Kart then you’re sitting pretty for longer. I’m not, so the worry is that the Wii U will begin to become a dust collector for months at a time until the next “thing” comes along to bait me from the PS4. And I’d probably complain about the price, but, also again, I got it for much cheaper which felt like the fairer amount (still available on Amazon for this price.) As a second console, it's perfect.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
  • Facebook Classic
  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Twitter Classic
  • Goodreads.jpg
  • c-youtube
bottom of page